

AERONAUTICAL INFORMATION CIRCULAR

Belgium and G.D. of Luxembourg

Published by Belgocontrol • Department O/ATS/P • New Control Tower • Tervuursesteenweg 303 • B-1820 Steenokkerzeel E-mail: aip.production@belgocontrol.be • Fax: ++32 (0) 2 206 24 19 • AFS: EBVAYOYX

AIC Nr. 06 / 2010 18 NOV 2010

European Regulation on the Crossing of the External Borders of the Schengen Area

Information on request of the Belgian Federal Police

1. INTRODUCTION

Title II, Chapter I, Article 4 of Regulation 562/2006 of the European Parliament and of the European Council imposes restrictions on the crossing of the external borders of the Schengen Area. They may be crossed only at the official border crossing points notified by the EU Member States to the European Commission.

Pilots should be aware that this regulation is also applicable to air transport and that restrictions may apply to flights from Belgium to foreign destinations and vice versa.

2. APPLICABLE RESTRICTIONS

The Schengen Area, within which no restrictions to air travel apply, currently consists of 25 countries:

Austria	Hungary	Poland
Belgium	Iceland	Portugal
Czech Republic	Italy	Slovakia
Denmark	Latvia	Slovenia
Estonia	Lithuania	Spain
Finland	G.D. of Luxembourg	Sweden
France	Malta	Switzerland
Germany	the Netherlands	

Germany the Netherlands
Greece Norway

Flights arriving from any other country shall <u>only</u> use the official border crossing points when landing in Belgium. Likewise, flights departing to any country outside the Schengen Area shall take off <u>only</u> from the official border crossing points.

The official border crossing points are EBAW, EBBR, EBCI, EBKT, EBLG and EBOS. Incoming persons may travel freely in the Schengen Area after the border check at the official border crossing point.

3. ENFORCEMENT

When traveling by air in Belgium, entering or leaving the Schengen Area from any other aerodrome than the official border crossing points mentioned above, is illegal. Active surveillance will be carried out by the Belgian Federal Police and violations will be subject to law enforcement measures.

4. FURTHER INFORMATION

Further information may be obtained from:

Mr Pierre VERSCHAEVE Commissaris Sectie Overste Luchtvaartpolitie Oostende (EBOS & EBKT) Nieuwpoortsesteenweg 885/5 B-8400 Oostende

Tel: +32 (0) 59 34 00 00 Fax: +32 (0) 59 34 00 51 E-mail: lpao.comdo@skynet.be

Website: www.luchtvaartpolitie-oostende.be

AIC 01/09 is hereby cancelled.